Uncategorized

Be a Builder

When I first decided I may want to serve Jesus by serving others instead of using my teaching degree to teach elementary school kids I had NO IDEA what I was doing.  I was under the mindset that “go big or go home” was all Jesus could use, and unless I laid it all on the line I was not going to make any impact. I had no plan but couldn’t wait to do something.  I was zealous (still am) to make a difference in people’s lives but didn’t even know where to start. Through many God appointed events in my path, I met a group of people that welcomed me to serve with them.  A few months in, the leader of the para-church organization asked me to meet for lunch.  I thought I was in trouble because I had done too much or not enough or said something stupid or who knows what else was running through my mind.  Well long story short, they asked me to co-lead the ministry not because they could no longer do it, but because they thought sharing the load of ministry would allow for more impact.  I was clearly shocked and questioned why they didn’t ask the others who had been there longer, pouring their hearts and lives into the mission.  What this person told me changed my life!  They told me they saw potential in me to be a leader, and even though I hadn’t been one yet, they BELIEVED in me.  They told me I didn’t have the skill set yet, but I had the passion and you can’t teach passion.  They were not threatened by empowering someone else to lead for fear that it would take away the spot light from themselves, they believed quite the opposite.  I had a ton to learn but I took the role and loved serving there for the 2 years the season would last.  I write all of that to say, who in your life needs you to believe in them so they can fully stand and serve or work in the calling God has placed on their life?  I would never have imagined I would have the capacity or ability to serve the way I did, and had that person not been a builder in my life I would have missed out.  I was completely inadequate in my own strength, but the Lord used this dear friend to awaken in me what He wanted to do through me.

Let nothing be done out of selfish ambition or vain conceit.  Rather, in humility value others above yourselves.  (Philippians 2:3)  The definition of value is the importance, worth, or usefulness of something or someone.  Imagine for a moment if we truly walked this scripture out.  If we did nothing (zero, zilch, nada) for our own selfish reasons but instead elevated the life and cause of others higher than ourselves, wouldn’t we feel rewarded by doing so?  Placing the utmost value or worth on someone else instead of having the mindset and behaviors to get what we need and “deserve” would change everything!  This sounds a whole lot like love!

Women get a really bad wrap for being jealous, backbiting, and comparison driven people but it does not have to be that way.  We should be the first to celebrate, esteem, and believe in each other.  I love the saying, “blowing out someone else’s candle doesn’t make yours shine any brighter.”  If fact 2 candles shine even brighter than 1!  Simple math 🙂  In Romans it says “Be good friends who love deeply; practice playing second fiddle.”  Yes, yes, yes!  We can safely develop and believe in others without the fear of losing what we have, because we aren’t all made to do the same things!  Sisters, don’t allow Satan to fool you into the comparison trap that says you need to be just like so and so in order to be powerful and make a difference.   Maybe no one has ever believed in you so instead of building up others, tearing them down feels more natural.  Well let me tell you, if you honor someone and stand beside them telling them they matter and allow Jesus to remove the selfish ambition and vain conceit from your heart, you will never ever regret it.  To see my daughters, friends, family, and fellow sisters walking in their calling is the most rewarding thing.  Then and only then will we be a community who is able to end sex trafficking, slavery, eating disorders, fear of inadequacy, the comparison trap, the orphan crisis, kids going to bed every night starving, homelessness and the countless other injustices and wicked things staring us in the face.

My prayer is for you to feel safe and confident enough to be a builder in someone else’s life because the blessings it brings to do so far outweighs what it will cost you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

